My companion …

I look beside me and smile,

She was sitting beside me also smiling,

She was sharing this beautiful moment with me,

As the sky slowly started turning into its breath-taking colour and the sun said good night,

I lean back and sigh,

A sigh of relief,

I was so glad things were back to normal,

She had disappeared for a while and we were going through a tough time,

But that’s all put aside now and she was back,

Right there next to me,

Her warmth radiating in the chill of the night,

I close my eyes and savour this moment,

“I missed you”,

Suprisingly I got no reply from her,

I open my eyes and look towards her,

But she was no longer there,

She was never there,

I look up at the sky and watch the darkness slowly take over,

“I wish you were here”

And just like the movies,

There was a sparkle within the darkness,

As if she was trying to tell me,

I’ll always be here,

Just instead of being next to you,

I’ll be looking down on you smiling.

Companion

3 thoughts on “My companion …

Leave a Reply

