Dear Future Me…

Dear Future Me:

I’m sitting here with a blank page unsure about how or what to write. While sitting here thinking I realised I know nothing about you, but you’ll know everything about me. My thoughts, feelings, secrets and wishes.

So you’re the mystery and for once I’m the open book. I wonder are you going to remember the day I wrote this? Or what I was feeling? Or what I really wanted to say?

You know I thought writing a letter to someone was hard, but writing a letter to yourself is proving itself to be much harder. I have so much to say to you, but two words keep reappearing. So I guess I better write them down so that you know and have proof of it.

I’m sorry.

I know you know exactly why, but in case you forget I’ll give you a small record.

I’m sorry for all the trouble I’ve caused you and the pain you felt. I’m sorry for the time I wasted and the struggle you dealt. I’m sorry for giving you all these memories and making the decisions that have shaped your life.

I know I’ve made mistakes and you’re disappointed with my silliness at times, but I can promise you this. I’m changing, of course not who we are, but I want to make sure you look at me and be proud of where I’ve taken you to. I want you to not be ashamed to talk about me when someone asks and I want you to love me for who I was.

I’ve pulled the plug to make sure that all the Water gets drained out, and you’re fresher and more accepting to what will come. I’m working and striving to make you stronger, wiser and better because I know that’s what you would want me to do. I can never remove the memories I have saved for you but am working to upgrade how you’ll feel about them when the reminiscing starts to play.

I love you and I hope you’ll feel the same.

 

Love,

Me

3 thoughts on “Dear Future Me…

Leave a Reply

