Parlay? Huh?

Parlay?

It’s true when they say you learn something everyday.

I’m going to be honest and tell you I haven’t heard of it before. Don’t even have the slightest clue of what it might possibly be. However, this is ofcourse where my dearest best friend comes into play. Within an instance I had the answer.

PARLAY:

1. Verb. turn an initial stake or winnings from a previous bet into (a greater amount) by gambling.

2. Noun. a cumulative series of bets in which winnings accruing from each transaction are used as a stake for a further bet.

I see why I didn’t know what it was, I’m not a gambler. So this word isn’t really useful in my dictionary. Although wait, there’s one more option I was given

PARLAY: Informal. transform into (something greater or more valuable).

Now that’s useful. I know this has usually (and more traditionally) got to do with money but guess we can implement it whatever way we want right?

So…

Why parlay your money for further gambling stakes when you could parlay your skills and effort for further goal achievements?

Why gamble with money, when you can gamble with experience? One has a very high chance of loss, the other a 100% win (you either succeed or you learn, no losing either way).

Why not break a bad habit and invest in a guaranteed healthy, life changing habit.

But then again…

The choice is yours…Which do you choose to parlay?

2 thoughts on “Parlay? Huh?

Leave a Reply

