Childhood lessons…

As kids,
We acted out things a lot,
Whether for fun,
Or to emphasis a point.

Remember whenever we were told a secret,
Or when we just needed to be quiet,
We would “Zip” our mouth,
“Lock it” at the side,
And “throw the key away”.

It honestly helped,
And it was taken so seriously.

Now,
Surely we’re not kids anymore,
However it truly would make a difference if people still knew how to just be quiet.

Even a second of silence can make a difference,
Whether it’s to listen to a point,
Or rethink whatever you’re planning to say.

Don’t forget your childhood lessons,
Yeah they were fun,
But now they could save you from a lot of trouble.

16 thoughts on “Childhood lessons…

  1. I think differently about this subject I do agree somethings should be left unsaid. But sometimes, you need to tell things to use doubt as motivation and to hear yourself proclaim in front of others, no matter how much they want you to suffer in misery because of their own unhappiness, you will do what you set out too. Come hell or high water like Bishop Jakes once said, I will accomplish the impossible. I may fight, cry, hurt, suffer lost, discomfort, slander, persecution, heartbreak, I may even be on the edge of losing my mind, but when it’s all said and done, I’m a winner in the end. Damn what a hater gotta say.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I totally agree with all you’ve said. We should never always stay quiet or bottle everything up inside of us. Ofcourse we need to speak up, especially at times where our voices are what’s going to win us the fight.

      However just to clarify, this post was intend towards the haters and the people who let meaningless blabber come out of their mouth. Some things are better off not being said.

      There’s also those that are so self-consumed. They talk and talk and talk and don’t give a chance for the other person to speak, put in an opinion, or simply defend themselves.

      But I definitely agree with all you’ve said and I thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinion. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I’m sorry for posting a completely unrelated comment here; but I couldn’t find another way to contact you. I just wanted to let you know that if you participate in blogging awards, I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award at https://agirlanddepression.wordpress.com/2017/04/18/11-interesting-facts-about-me-the-sunshine-blogger-award/. I love your short poems; they always have a great lesson or point to make behind then and they also make me smile.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

